Packaging Act

– Our Service for packaging and packaging material – 

 

Packaging Act (VerpackG)

Manufacturers, dealers or importers who want to bring various types of packaging onto the German market are subject to the German Packaging Act (VerpackG), based on EU Directive 94/62 / EC. We support you in selling your packaging material in accordance with the law in Germany.

Packaging should be returned to the material cycle by taking it back and disposing of it in an environmentally friendly manner or by recycling and recovering usable raw materials. The aim is to avoid waste in order to conserve resources and to recycle it to protect the environment.

Different national laws with country-specific requirements apply across Europe. In Germany, the German Packaging Act (VerpackG) applies to the distribution and proper disposal of packaging material.

Packaging Act

Information for domestic and foreign manufacturers, dealers and importers.

 

General information on the Packaging Act (VerpackG)
Manufacturers, dealers or importers who want to bring packaging and packaging material to the German market are subject to the German Packaging Act (VerpackG), based on EU Directive 94/62 / EC on packaging and packaging waste.

What do the terms VerpackG mean?
The term VerpackG is an abbreviation of the designation of the Packaging Act – Law on the placing on the market, the return and the high-quality recycling of packaging. Different national laws apply in other EU member states.

Who do the registration obligations affect?
Manufacturers, distributors or importers of reusable packaging and packaging material must register with the Central Packaging Register before sales begin and contribute to the disposal costs incurred.

Which products fall under the Packaging Act?
Recyclable packaging and packaging material are affected. The Packaging Act lays down requirements for product stewardship. It is intended to regulate the behavior of the obligated parties in such a way that packaging waste is avoided and sent for reuse or recycling.

What is product stewardship?
Product responsibility of the person placing the product on the market means taking responsibility for a product over its entire service life, from manufacture and sale to free return as well as professional disposal or recycling.

What penalties or fines are possible?
According to Section 9 of the Packaging Act, offenses such as selling without registration or missing a quantity report as administrative offenses are subject to fines of up to a maximum of 100,000 euros per individual case. In addition, sales of the products concerned must be stopped immediately.

Further information on the penalties and fines for violations of the Packaging Act can be found in the following link.

What are the duties?
Manufacturers, distributors or importers must register with the Central Packaging Register before sales begin and contribute to the disposal costs. One of the obligations is the licensing obligation in a dual system, the so-called system participation obligation.

Important: Since 2019, companies must register with the Central Office for Packaging Register / LUCID. This can only be done in person, outsourcing to an authorized representative based in Germany is not possible. Registration takes place online.

What does Amazon need about registration?
Amazon is legally obliged to check these registrations and thus conformity. All three areas of the law – packaging, electrical devices and batteries – are equally affected. The products cannot be sold again without specifying the relevant numbers.

Further information regarding Amazon and the packaging law can be found at the following link.

How long does the registration process take?
The registration as well as the regular quantity reports must be done personally in order to rule out future misuse. However, all other tasks may be carried out by authorized third parties.

The application itself can be carried out within approx. 10-20 minutes. The registration number is issued immediately afterwards and is immediately valid. This means that the registration procedure does not sometimes require several weeks, as is the case with ElektroG / BattG (Stiftung EAR).

Authorization for foreign manufacturers and dealers as part of the registration
Foreign manufacturers without a registered office or branch in Germany must name an authorized representative based in this country. The latter can represent the manufacturer vis-à-vis the joint agency but is also liable for all statutory obligations of the manufacturer.

Our Service

We would be happy to support you in fulfilling your registration and reporting obligations with the Stiftung Zentrale Stelle Verpackungsregister / LUCID in order to be able to sell your packaging in accordance with the law.

 

Inquire now!

WEEE Services – SCHEUFER
Contact and customer care
Phone: +49 (0) 9131 9402597
E-mail: info@european-recycling.de

SCHEUFER - Your authorized representative

We are recognized and certified by the Altgeräte Register EAR foundation as a representative for foreign manufacturers, dealers and importers. Our interested parties and clients are internationally active, well-known companies from all parts of the world.

Questions and answers (Q&A)

Frequently asked questions from prospects and customers as well as the corresponding answers.

 

Registration under the Packaging Act is necessary as soon as packaging is placed on the market for the first time, i.e. when products are placed on the market for the first time.

Licensing is understood to mean the participation of packaging and packaging material in a return system for used packaging (“dual system”).

Licensing is required for every distributor of sales packaging who later sends products to “private end customers”, regardless of the quantity and weight of the packaging.

In principle, packaging tape must also be licensed, as it falls under the “plastics” category. However, there is a regulation that if the packaging has a material content of 5% or less, the packaging tape is considered to be the main material content (e.g. cardboard packaging with <5% foreign content).

In principle, the cardboard box used must be licensed. Since it is difficult or often impossible to provide conclusive evidence of documents for packaging that has already been licensed (for proof of license or a declaration of completeness), licensing should be carried out for your own safety.

In principle, this includes all recyclable materials for packaging, such as glass packaging, paper, cardboard, cardboard or packaging made of tinplate, aluminum, plastic or composite materials.

The easiest way to do this is to use your merchandise management system with a corresponding note for customers or products or based on plausible average values.

You can also weigh and extrapolate the packaging. It is important that the values you provide are conclusive and, in the event of a test, also understandable.

It is not necessary to invoice the entire amount of packaging material used, down to the last gram, the calculated amount should at least correspond to the facts.

Verpackungsgesetz

– Unser Service für Verpackungen und Verpackungsmaterial –

 

Verpackungsgesetz (VerpackG)

Hersteller, Händler oder Importeure, die diverse Verpackungen auf den deutschen Markt bringen wollen, fallen unter das deutsche Verpackungsgesetz (VerpackG), basierend auf der EU-Richtlinie 94/62/EC. Wir unterstützen Sie dabei, Ihr Verpackungsmaterial gesetzeskonform in Deutschland zu vertreiben.

Verpackungen sollen durch Rücknahme und umweltverträgliche Entsorgung oder Recycling und Wiedergewinnung verwertbarer Rohstoffe erneut dem Wertstoffkreislauf zugeführt werden. Das Ziel ist die Vermeidung von Abfällen zur Ressourcenschonung und deren Verwertung zum Schutz der Umwelt. 

Europaweit gelten dafür unterschiedliche nationale Gesetze mit länderspezifischen Anforderungen. In Deutschland gilt hierfür das deutsche Verpackungsgesetz (VerpackG) zum Vertrieb und der fachgerechten Entsorgung von Verpackungsmaterial.

Verpackungsgesetz

Informationen für in- und ausländische Hersteller, Händler und Importeure.

 

Allgemeine Informationen zum Verpackungsgesetz (VerpackG)
Hersteller, Händler oder Importeure, die Verpackungen und Verpackungsmaterial auf den deutschen Markt bringen wollen, fallen unter das deutsche Verpackungsgesetz (VerpackG), basierend auf der EU-Richtlinie 94/62/EG über Verpackungen und Verpackungsabfälle.

Was bedeuten die Begriffe VerpackG?
Der Begriff VerpackG ist eine Abkürzung der Bezeichnung des Verpackungsgesetzes – Gesetz über das Inverkehrbringen, die Rücknahme und die hochwertige Verwertung von Verpackungen. In anderen EU-Mitgliedsstaaten gelten andere nationale Gesetze.

Wen betreffen die Registrierungspflichten?
Hersteller, Vertreiber oder Importeure von wiederverwertbaren Verpackungen und Verpackungsmaterial müssen sich bereits vor Verkaufsbeginn bei   der Zentralen Stelle Verpackungsregister registrieren und sich an den anfallenden Entsorgungskosten beteiligen.

Welche Produkte fallen unter das VerpackG?
Betroffen sind wiederverwertbare Verpackungen und Verpackungsmaterial. Das VerpackG legt Anforderungen an die Produktverantwortung fest. Es soll das Verhalten der Verpflichteten so regeln, dass Verpackungsabfälle vermieden und zur Wiederverwertung oder dem Recycling zugeführt werden. 

Was ist die Produktverantwortung?
Produktverantwortung des Inverkehrbringers bedeutet die Verantwortung für ein Produkt über dessen gesamte Lebensdauer wahrzunehmen, von der Herstellung, über den Verkauf bis hin zur kostenlosen Rücknahme sowie fachgerechten Entsorgung oder Wiederverwertung.

Welche Strafen oder Bußgelder sind möglich?
Nach § 9 des VerpackG werden Tatbestände wie der Verkauf ohne Registrierung oder das Verpassen einer Mengen­meldung als Ordnungs­widrigkeiten mit Bußgeldern bis zu max. 100.000 Euro pro Einzelfall belegt. Außerdem muss der Verkauf der betreffenden Produkte unverzüglich eingestellt werden.

Weitere Informationen zu den Strafen und Bußgeldern bei Verstößen gegen das VerpackG, können Sie dem folgendem Link entnehmen.

Was sind die Pflichten?
Hersteller, Vertreiber oder Importeure müssen sich vor Verkaufsbeginn bei der Zentralen Stelle Verpackungsregister registrieren und sich an den Entsorgungskosten beteiligen. Zu den Pflichten gehört die Lizenzierungspflicht bei einem Dualen System, die so genannte Systembeteiligungspflicht.

Wichtig: Seit 2019 müssen Unternehmen sich bei der Stiftung Zentrale Stelle Verpackungsregister / LUCID registrieren. Dies kann nur persönlich erfolgen, eine Auslagerung auf einen Bevollmächtigten mit Sitz in Deutschland ist nicht möglich. Die Registrierung erfolgt auf dem Onlineweg.

Was benötigt Amazon über die Registrierung?
Amazon ist gesetzlich gezwungen, diese Registrierungen und damit Konformität zu überprüfen. Betroffen sind alle drei Gesetzes­bereiche Verpackungen, Elektrogeräte und Batterien gleichermaßen. Ohne Angaben der entsprechenden Nummern kann kein weiterer Verkauf der Produkte stattfinden.

Weitere Informationen bezüglich Amazon und dem Verpackungsgesetz, können Sie dem folgenden Link entnehmen. 

Wie lange dauert der Registrierungsprozess?
Die Registrierung als auch die regelmäßigen Mengenmeldungen müssen höchstpersönlich erfolgen, um künftig Missbrauch auszuschließen. Alle anderen Aufgaben dürfen jedoch durch bevollmächtigte Dritte erfolgen.

Die Beantragung selbst kann innerhalb von ca. 10-20 Minuten selber durchgeführt werden. Die Registrierungsnummer wird sofort im Anschluss erteilt und ist sofort gültig. Somit erfordert das Prozedere der Registrierung nicht, wie bei ElektroG / BattG (Stiftung EAR), teilweise mehrere Wochen.

Bevollmächtigung für ausländische Hersteller und Händler im Rahmen der Registrierung
Ausländische Hersteller ohne Sitz oder Niederlassung in Deutschland müssen einen hierzulande niedergelassenen Bevollmächtigten benennen. Dieser kann den Hersteller gegenüber der Gemeinsamen Stelle vertreten, haftet allerdings auch für alle gesetzlichen Verpflichtungen des Herstellers.

 

Unser Service

Wir unterstützen Sie gerne dabei, Ihre Registrierungs- und Meldepflichten bei der Stiftung Zentrale Stelle Verpackungsregister / LUCID wahrzunehmen, um Ihre Verpackungen gesetzeskonform verkaufen zu können.

 

Jetzt Anfragen!

WEEE Services – SCHEUFER
Kontakt und Kundenbetreuung
Telefon: +49 (0) 9131 9402597
E-Mail: info@european-recycling.de

SCHEUFER - Ihr Bevollmächtigter

Wir sind von der Stiftung Altgeräte Register EAR als stellvertretender Bevollmächtigter für ausländische Hersteller, Händler und Importeure anerkannt und zertifiziert. Unsere Interessenten und Klienten sind international tätige, namhafte Unternehmen aus allen Teilen der Welt.

Fragen und Antworten (Q&A)

Häufig gestellte Fragen von Interessenten und Kunden sowie die dazugehörigen Antworten.

 

Die Registrierung im Rahmen des VerpackG ist notwendig, sobald gewerbsmäßig Verpackungen erstmals in Verkehr gebracht werden, daher bei der ersten Inverkehrbringung von Produkten.

 

Unter der Lizenzierung ist die Beteiligung von Verpackungen und Verpackungsmaterial an einem Rücknahmesystem für gebrauchte Verpackungen („duales System“) zu verstehen. 

Die Lizenzierung ist für jeden Inverkehrbringer von Verkaufsverpackungen erforderlich, der später Produkte an „private Endkunden“ versendet, unabhängig von Menge und Gewicht der Verpackung. 

Prinzipiell muss auch Paketband muss lizenziert werden, da es unter die Kategorie „Kunststoffe“ fällt. Es gibt jedoch eine Regelung, dass bei einem Stoffanteil von 5 % und weniger an einer Verpackung das Paketband stofflich zum Hauptanteil (z.B. Kartonage bei < 5 % Fremdanteil) gerechnet wird.

Grundsätzlich muss der verwendete Karton lizenziert werden. Da der stichhaltige Nachweis von Belegen für bereits lizenzierte Verpackungen (für Lizenznachweis oder Vollständigkeitserklärung) schwierig bis oft nicht möglich ist, sollte zur eigenen Sicherheit die Lizenzierung erfolgen.

Hierzu zählen prinzipiell alle wiederverwertbaren Materialien für Verpackungen, wie Glasverpackungen, Papier, Pappe, Kartonagen oder Verpackungen aus Weißblech, Aluminium, Kunststoff oder Verbundstoffen. 

Dies erfolgt am einfachsten über Ihre Warenwirtschaft mit einem entsprechenden Vermerk bei Kunden oder Produkten oder unter der Zugrundelegung plausibler Durchschnittswerte. 

Sie können die Verpackungen auch wiegen und hochrechnen. Wichtig ist, dass die von Ihnen angegebenen Werte schlüssig und im Falle einer Prüfung auch nachvollziehbar sind. 

Es ist nicht notwendig die gesamte Menge eingesetztes Verpackungsmaterial bis auf das letzte Gramm abzurechnen, die errechnete Menge sollte zumindest den Tatsachen entsprechen.