Electrical Act / WEEE

– Our service for electrical and electronic equipment –

 

Electrical Act (ElektroG) / WEEE

Manufacturers, dealers or importers who want to bring electronic products to the German market are subject to the German Electrical and Electronic Equipment Act (ElektroG), based on EU Directive 2012/19 / EU (WEEE Directive). We support you in selling your electronic products in compliance with the law.

Waste electrical and electronic equipment should be returned to the material cycle by taking it back and disposing of it in an environmentally friendly manner or by recycling and recovering high-quality raw materials. This is intended to reduce consumption and dependence on rare earths (industrial metals).

Different national laws with country-specific requirements apply across Europe. In Germany, the Electrical and Electronic Equipment Act (ElektroG) applies to the sale and proper disposal of electrical and electronic equipment.

Electrical and Electronic Equipment Act

Information for domestic and foreign manufacturers, dealers and importers.

General information on the Electrical and Electronic Equipment Act (ElektroG)
Manufacturers, dealers or importers who want to bring electronic products to the German market are subject to the German Electrical and Electronic Equipment Act (ElektroG), based on the EU Directive 2012/19 / EU (better known as the WEEE Directive).

What do the terms WEEE / ElektroG / EAR mean?

WEEE: The EU WEEE directive (2012/19 / EU) deals with the return and environmentally friendly disposal of electrical and electronic equipment.

ElektroG: The term “ElektroG” is an abbreviation of the designation of the German electrical law – law on the placing on the market, the return and the environmentally friendly disposal of electrical and electronic equipment. Different national laws apply in other EU member states.

EAR: The Foundation for Altgeräte Register (EAR) is a public foundation under civil law and acts as a “joint agency for manufacturers”. It registers the manufacturers and coordinates the provision of collection containers and collection from public waste disposal authorities.

Who do the registration obligations of the WEEE Directive affect?
All those who place electrical and electronic equipment on the market in Germany, such as manufacturers, wholesalers and retailers (including mail order companies) and importers of electrical and electronic equipment, are required to do so. Separate provisions apply to batteries and accumulators.

Which products fall under the ElektroG?
The WEEE directive has an open scope for electrical and electronic equipment with currently six categories. Important: Batteries and accumulators are not subject to the electrical law. Statutory obligations under the Battery Act apply to manufacturers and distributors.

Categories (ElektroG)

Every electrical and electronic device that falls within the scope of the ElektroG (open scope) can be assigned to one of the six categories shown below. The EAR Foundation can help if there is any uncertainty about the correct allocation.

What is product stewardship under the WEEE directive?
Product responsibility of the person placing the product on the market means taking responsibility for a product over its entire service life, from manufacture and sale to free return as well as professional disposal or recycling.

What penalties or fines are possible?
According to Section 45 of the ElektroG, offenses such as selling without registration or missing a quantity report as administrative offenses are subject to fines of up to a maximum of 100,000 euros per individual case. In addition, sales of the products concerned must be stopped immediately.

Further information on the penalties and fines for violations of the ElektroG can be found in the following link.

What are the obligations under the WEEE registration?
Manufacturers, distributors or importers must register with the EAR Foundation before sales begin and contribute to the disposal costs. In order to secure the return and disposal in the event of insolvency, a guarantee in the form of a bank guarantee or insurance must be deposited.

What exactly is a WEEE number?
The WEEE number is a manufacturer number that is issued to distributors of electrical and electronic equipment for the first time after successful registration with the EAR Foundation. It consists of a country code (e.g. DE) and an 8-digit sequence of digits (e.g. WEEE reg.-no. DE XXXXXXXX).

Important: According to the ElektroG, manufacturers and dealers must state the WEEE number when selling the product and on the respective invoice.

What does Amazon need about WEEE registration?
As an online trading platform, Amazon must observe and implement the legal requirements of the WEEE directive for Germany. Dealers must include the German WEEE registration number in the information about the seller section in the dealer shop and on all invoices.

Further information on Amazon and WEEE registration with the EAR Foundation can be found at the following link.

How long does the registration process take?
According to the EAR Foundation, the process can usually take around 7 to 8 weeks, depending on the circumstances and in the case of further necessary information and requirements, however, more.

Authorization for foreign manufacturers and dealers as part of the registration
Foreign manufacturers without a registered office or branch in Germany must name an authorized representative based in this country. The latter can represent the manufacturer vis-à-vis the joint agency, but is also liable for all statutory obligations of the manufacturer.

Our service

We are happy to support you in fulfilling your registration and reporting obligations with the EAR Foundation in order to be able to sell your electrical and electronic products in accordance with the law.

 

Inquire now!

WEEE Services – SCHEUFER
Contact and customer care
Phone: +49 (0) 9131 9402597
E-mail: info@european-recycling.de

SCHEUFER - Your authorized representative

We are recognized and certified by the Altgeräte Register EAR foundation as a representative for foreign manufacturers, dealers and importers. Our interested parties and clients are internationally active, well-known companies from all parts of the world

Questions and answers (Q&A)

Frequently asked questions from prospects and customers as well as the corresponding answers.

 

No. Batteries and accumulators are specified as energy storage devices with potentially highly toxic components in the separate Battery Act (BattG) with separate requirements.

There are currently six categories for assignment. If the assignment is unclear in individual cases or the categories overlap, you can contact the responsible EAR foundation.

 

The ElektroG implements the European WEEE Directive 2012/19 / EU into German law. The law first came into force in 2005 and was amended in 2015 (ElektroG2). The next amendment (ElektroG3) will come into force on January 1, 2022.

 

For the first time, with the entry into force of the new ElektroG2 2015, resellers will also have to take back old devices from end customers. Retailers with large retail spaces have to offer the return locally, online retailers have to have old devices picked up from end customers.

 

Almost every device that requires electricity for its operation, regardless of whether it comes from the socket or from a battery, is considered an electrical device. This also includes charging cables and multiple plugs.

The few exceptions that do not have to be disposed of as electronic waste include classic light bulbs, pacemakers and e-scooters / e-scooters, which require type approval.

Yes, it requires dealers to take back old electrical and electronic equipment from customers on a 1: 1 basis. Online sellers must arrange for and pay for the return.

For more information on the WEEE commitments for France, please refer to the link below.

Elektrogesetz / WEEE

– Unser Service für Elektro- und Elektronikgeräte –

 

Elektrogesetz (ElektroG) / WEEE

Hersteller, Händler oder Importeure, die elektronische Produkte auf den deutschen Markt bringen wollen, fallen unter das deutsche Elektro- und Elektronikgerätegesetz (ElektroG), basierend auf der EU-Richtlinie 2012/19/EU (WEEE-Richtlinie). Wir unterstützen Sie dabei, Ihre Elektronikprodukte gesetzeskonform zu vertreiben.

Elektro- und Elektronik-Altgeräte sollen durch Rücknahme und umweltverträgliche Entsorgung oder Recycling und der Wiedergewinnung hochwertiger Rohstoffe erneut dem Wertstoffkreislauf zugeführt werden. Dadurch sollen der Verbrauch und die Abhängigkeit von seltenen Erden reduziert werden.

Europaweit gelten dafür unterschiedliche nationale Gesetze mit länderspezifischen Anforderungen. In Deutschland gilt hierfür das Elektro- und Elektronikgerätegesetz (ElektroG) für Vertrieb und der fachgerechten Entsorgung von Elektro- und Elektronikgeräten.

Elektro- und Elektronikgerätegesetz

Informationen für in- und ausländische Hersteller, Händler und Importeure.

 

Allgemeine Informationen zum Elektrogesetz (ElektroG)
Hersteller, Händler oder Importeure, die elektronische Produkte auf den deutschen Markt bringen wollen, fallen unter das deutsche Elektro- und Elektronikgerätegesetz (ElektroG), basierend auf der EU-Richtlinie 2012/19/EU (besser bekannt WEEE-Richtlinie).

Was bedeuten die Begriffe WEEE / ElektroG / EAR?

WEEE: Die WEEE-Richtlinie der EU (2012/19/EU) thematisiert die Rücknahme und umweltverträgliche Entsorgung von Elektro- und Elektronikgeräten.
ElektroG: Der Begriff „ElektroG“ ist eine Abkürzung der Bezeichnung des deutschen Elektrogesetzes – Gesetz über das Inverkehrbringen, die Rücknahme und die umweltverträgliche Entsorgung von Elektro- und Elektronikgeräten. In anderen EU-Mitgliedsstaaten gelten andere nationale Gesetze.
EAR: Die Stiftung Altgeräte Register (EAR) ist eine öffentliche Stiftung bürgerlichen Rechts und als „Gemeinsame Stelle der Hersteller“ tätig. Sie registriert die Hersteller und koordiniert die Bereitstellung von Sammelbehältern sowie die Abholung bei öffentlich-rechtlichen Entsorgungsträgern. 

Wen betreffen die Registrierungspflichten der WEEE-Richtlinie?
In die Pflicht genommen werden alle, die Elektro- und Elektronikgeräte in Deutschland in Verkehr bringen, wie Hersteller, Groß- und Einzelhändler (einschließlich Versandhandel) und Importeure von Elektro- und Elektronikgeräten. Für Batterien und Akkumulatoren gelten gesonderte Bestimmungen. 

Welche Produkte fallen unter das ElektroG?
Die WEEE-Richtlinie führt einen offenen Anwendungsbereich (open scope) für Elektro- und Elektronikgeräte mit derzeit sechs Kategorien. Wichtig: Batterien und Akkumulatoren fallen nicht unter das Elektrogesetz. Für Hersteller und Vertreiber gelten gesetzliche Pflichten nach dem Batteriegesetz.

Kategorien (ElektroG)

Jedes Elektro- und Elektronikgerät, das in den Anwendungsbereich des ElektroG fällt (open scope), kann in einer der sechs nachfolgend dargestellten Kategorien zugeordnet werden. Im Falle von Unklarheit über die korrekte Zuordnung kann die Stiftung EAR behilflich sein.

Was ist die Produktverantwortung im Rahmen der WEEE-Richtlinie?
Produktverantwortung des Inverkehrbringers bedeutet die Verantwortung für ein Produkt über dessen gesamte Lebensdauer wahrzunehmen, von der Herstellung, über den Verkauf bis hin zur kostenlosen Rücknahme sowie fachgerechten Entsorgung oder Wiederverwertung.

Welche Strafen oder Bußgelder sind möglich?
Nach § 45 des ElektroG werden Tatbestände wie der Verkauf ohne Registrierung oder das Verpassen einer Mengen­meldung als Ordnungs­widrigkeiten mit Bußgeldern bis zu max. 100.000 Euro pro Einzelfall belegt. Außerdem muss der Verkauf der betreffenden Produkte unverzüglich eingestellt werden.

Weitere Informationen zu den Strafen und Bußgeldern bei Verstößen gegen das ElektroG, können Sie dem folgenden Link entnehmen.

Was sind die Pflichten im Rahmen der WEEE-Registrierung?
Hersteller, Vertreiber oder Importeure müssen sich vor Verkaufsbeginn bei der Stiftung EAR registrieren und sich an den Entsorgungskosten beteiligen. Um die Rücknahme und Entsorgung im Insolvenzfall zu sichern, muss eine Garantie in Form einer Bankbürgschaft oder Versicherung hinterlegt werden.

Was genau ist eine WEEE-Nummer?
Die WEEE-Nummer ist eine Herstellernummer, die nach erfolgreicher Registrierung bei der Stiftung EAR erstmalig an Inverkehrbringer von Elektro- und Elektronikgeräten vergeben wird. Sie besteht aus einem Länderkürzel (z.B. DE) sowie einer 8-stelligen Zifferfolge (z.B. WEEE-Reg.-Nr. DE XXXXXXXX).

Wichtig: Hersteller und Händler gemäß des ElektroG müssen die WEEE-Nummer beim Produktverkauf und auf den jeweiligen Rechnungen angeben. 

Was benötigt Amazon über die WEEE-Registrierung?
Amazon muss als Online-Handelsplatz die gesetzlichen Anforderungen der WEEE-Richtlinie für Deutschland wahrnehmen und umsetzen. Händler müssen die deutsche WEEE-Registrierungsnummer im Abschnitt mit Info zum Verkäufer im Händlershop und auf allen Rechnungen angeben.

Weitere Informationen bezüglich Amazon und der WEEE-Registrierung bei der Stiftung EAR, können Sie dem folgenden Link entnehmen.

Wie lange dauert der Registrierungsprozess?
Nach Angaben der Stiftung EAR kann der Prozess in der Regel etwa 7 bis 8 Wochen veranschlagen, je nach den Umständen und im Falle weiterer notwendiger Auskünfte und Erfordernisse allerdings auch mehr.

Bevollmächtigung für ausländische Hersteller und Händler im Rahmen der Registrierung
Ausländische Hersteller ohne Sitz oder Niederlassung in Deutschland müssen einen hierzulande niedergelassenen Bevollmächtigten benennen. Dieser kann den Hersteller gegenüber der Gemeinsamen Stelle vertreten, haftet allerdings auch für alle gesetzlichen Verpflichtungen des Herstellers.

Unser Service

Wir unterstützen Sie gerne dabei, Ihre Registrierungs- und Meldepflichten bei der Stiftung EAR wahrzunehmen, um Ihre Elektro- und Elektronikprodukte gesetzeskonform verkaufen zu können.

 

Jetzt Anfragen!

WEEE Services – SCHEUFER
Kontakt und Kundenbetreuung
Telefon: +49 (0) 9131 9402597
E-Mail: info@european-recycling.de

SCHEUFER - Ihr Bevollmächtigter

Wir sind von der Stiftung Altgeräte Register EAR als stellvertretender Bevollmächtigter für ausländische Hersteller, Händler und Importeure anerkannt und zertifiziert. Unsere Interessenten und Klienten sind international tätige, namhafte Unternehmen aus allen Teilen der Welt.

Fragen und Antworten (Q&A)

Häufig gestellte Fragen von Interessenten und Kunden sowie die dazugehörigen Antworten.

 

Nein. Batterien und Akkumulatoren werden als Energiespeicher mit potentiell hochgiftigen Bestandteilen im separaten Batteriegesetz (BattG) mit gesonderten Anforderungen konkretisiert.

 

Es liegen derzeit sechs Kategorien für die Zuordnung vor. Falls im Einzelfall die Zuordnung unklar ist oder sich die Kategorien überschneiden, kann man sich an die verantwortliche Stiftung EAR wenden.

 

Das ElektroG setzt die europäische WEEE-Richtlinie 2012/19/EU in deutsches Recht um. Das Gesetz trat erstmalig 2005 in Kraft und wurde 2015 novelliert (ElektroG2). Die nächste Novelle (ElektroG3) tritt am 1. Januar 2022 in Kraft.

 

Erstmalig müssen Wiederverkäufer mit dem Inkraft­­treten des neuen ElektroG2 2015 auch Altgeräte von Endkunden zurücknehmen. Einzel­­händler mit großen Laden­­flächen müssen die Rückgabe lokal anbieten, Onlinehändler müssen Altgeräte bei Endkunden abholen lassen.

 

Fast jedes Gerät, das für seinen Betrieb Strom benötigt, egal ob dieser aus der Steck­dose oder aus einer Batterie kommt, gilt als Elektrogerät. Auch Lade­kabel und Mehr­fach­stecker zählen dazu.

Zu den wenigen Ausnahmen, die nicht als Elektroschrott entsorgt werden müssen, zählen klassische Glühlampen, Herz­schritt­macher sowie E-Scooter / E-Roller, die eine Typengenehmigung brauchen. 

Ja, es erfordert von Händlern die 1:1-Rücknahme von Elektro- und Elektronik-Altgeräten von Kunden. Online-Verkäufer müssen Vorkehrungen für die Rücknahme treffen und dafür bezahlen.

Weitere Informationen zu den WEEE-Verpflichtungen für Frankreich können Sie dem folgenden Link entnehmen.